May 1, 2015

May 2015 Concert Calendar

Photo by Ricardo Trabulsi
May's Global A Go-Go picks:
  1. The one-of-a-kind singer Lila Downs (pictured above), who makes indigenous Mexican music and culture larger than life, appears at George Washington University's Lisner Auditorium on Friday May 1
  2. New York's Easy Star All Stars and London's The Skints, two of my current favorite reggae bands, share the bill at the Jefferson Theater in Charlottesville on Wednesday May 6 and at Gypsy Sally's in DC on Saturday May 9
  3. Bio Ritmo appropriately headlines Friday Cheers' RVA Music Night, Friday May 22 on Brown's Island
  4. An unlikely double bill at an unlikely venue: DC Balkan brass powerhouse Black Masala and Richmond Ethio-jazz combo Afro-Zen Allstars at the Cary Street Cafe on Saturday May 23
Have an event you'd like me to include, or a suggestion for the concert calendar?  Just drop me a line at globalagogoradio [at] gmail [dot] com, or leave me a message right here.

Click "Read more" to see the entire May calendar.

Friday May 1
Lila Downs at Lisner Auditorium (DC)

Alfredo Mojica Group at Bossa Bistro (DC) [also May 8, 15, 22 and 29]

Saturday May 2
Rattlemouth at Crossroads Coffee & Ice Cream (Richmond)

Tumbao Y Raul Morel at Bossa Bistro (DC) [also May 9, 16, 23 and 30]

Tuesday May 5
Cheick Hamala's Griot Street at Bossa Bistro (DC) [also May 12, 19 and 26]

Wednesday May 6
Easy Star All Stars, The Skints and Dub Architect at the Jefferson Theater (Charlottesville)

Corey Harris Rasta Blues Experience at the Mayflower Renaissance Hotel (DC)

Friday May 8
Xavier Rudd & The United Nations and Daniel Bambaata Marley at the National (Richmond)

Los Master Plus at Tropicalia (DC)

Saturday May 9
DJ Greybeard's Afro Pop Dance Thang at Balliceaux (Richmond)

Easy Star All Stars and The Skints at Gypsy Sally's (DC)

Sunday May 10
Feedel Band at Hill Center (DC)

Monday May 11
Laibach at the Black Cat (DC)

Wednesday May 13
Treehouse, Wanyama and Lost Dreads at the Camel (Richmond)

Los Lobos at the Jefferson Theater (Charlottesville)

Thursday May 14
Afro-Zen Allstars at Balliceaux (Richmond)

Rattlemouth at Stir Crazy Cafe (Richmond)

Tierra Santa at the Howard Theatre (DC)

Friday May 15
Hotel X at Crossroads Coffee & Ice Cream (Richmond)

Miramar at the Savory Grain (Richmond)

Saturday May 16
Happy Lucky Combo at Rare Olde Times (Richmond)

Sunday May 17
Mariachi El Bronx at the Broadberry (Richmond)

Happy Lucky Combo at Hardywood Park Craft Brewery (Richmond)

Lagbaja at the Howard Theatre (DC)

Wednesday May 20
Banda Magda at Bossa Bistro (DC)

Thursday May 21
My Son The Doctor at Stir Crazy Cafe (Richmond)

Black Masala, Tipsy Oxcart and Ottomania at Tropicalia (DC)

Bluebeat DC: Dot Dash, The Captivators and Party Like It's at Bossa Bistro (DC)

Friday May 22
Bio Ritmo at Friday Cheers (Richmond)

DJ Carlito's Non Stop K Pop at Balliceaux (Richmond)

Gypsy Star at the Tin Pan (Richmond)

David Lindley at Jammin Java (Vienna)

Saturday May 23
Black Masala and Afro-Zen Allstars at Cary Street Cafe (Richmond)

Kinky at the Howard Theatre (DC)

Tipsy Oxcart and Elby Brass at Colonial Tavern (Fredericksburg)

Marko Hatlak at Millennium Stage (DC)

Sunday May 24
The Scotch Bonnets at Bossa Bistro (DC)

Tuesday May 26
Raya Brass Band and Sandaraa at Tropicalia (DC)

Wednesday May 27
Ensemble Harmonia at Millennium Stage (DC)

Thursday May 28
Cissa Paz & Friends at Bossa Bistro (DC)

Zulal and Ara Dinkjian at Millennium Stage (DC)

Pierre Bensusan at the Southern (Charlottesville)

Friday May 29
Antero at the Broadberry (Richmond)

People's Champs at Tropicalia (DC)

No comments: