September 1, 2015

September 2015 Concert Calendar

September's Global A Go-Go picks:
  1. Bio Ritmo and Miramar play Richmond's Broadberry on Wednesday September 2 along with Orquesta El Macabeo, one of Puerto Rico's hottest salsa combos, and the Peace & Rhythm DJ Crew
  2. Two ways to celebrate the Ethiopian New Year: on Thursday September 10 here in Richmond with the Afro-Zen Allstars at Crossroads Coffee & Ice Cream, or in DC on Friday September 11 with the legendary singer Mahmoud Ahmed at George Washington University's Lisner Auditorium
  3. The outstanding Cambodian-American band Dengue Fever (pictured above) makes a rare East Coast appearance at the Rock & Roll Hotel in Washington on Saturday September 12
  4. Tuareg desert blues rockers Terakaft, touring behind their brand-new album, play DC's intimate Bossa Bistro on Tuesday September 15, along with Cheick Hamala's Griot Street
Have an event you'd like me to include, or a suggestion for the concert calendar?  Just drop me a line at globalagogoradio [at] gmail [dot] com, or leave me a message right here.

Click "Read more" to see the entire September calendar.

Tuesday Sep 1
Cheick Hamala's Griot Street at Bossa Bistro (DC) [also Sep 8, 22 and 29]

Wednesday Sep 2
Bio Ritmo, Orquesta El Macabeo, Miramar and Peace & Rhythm DJ Crew at the Broadberry (Richmond)

Tal National at Millennium Stage (DC)

Thursday Sep 3
Feedel Band at Bossa Bistro (DC)

Orquesta El Macabeo at Tropicalia (DC)

Friday Sep 4
No BS! Brass at the Broadberry (Richmond)

Zakir Hussain & Padrashmi Hariharan at Lisner Auditorium (DC)

Ethio Super Stars at the Howard Theatre (DC)

Alfredo Mojica Group at Bossa Bistro (DC) [also Sep 11, 18 and 25]

Peace & Rhythm DJ Crew at Bossa Bistro upstairs (DC)

Saturday Sep 5
Rattlemouth at Crossroads Coffee & Ice Cream (Richmond)

DJ Graybeard's Afro Dance Thang at Balliceaux (Richmond)

Tumbao Y Raul Morel at Bossa Bistro (DC) [also Sep 12, 19 and 26]

Sunday Sep 6
Los Lobos at the Hamilton (DC)

Dub City Renegades at IOTA (Arlington)

Tuesday Sep 8
Rahim AlHaj at University of Richmond Perkinson Recital Hall (Richmond)

Jane Bunnett & Maqueque at Capital Ale House Downtown Music Hall (Richmond)

Wednesday Sep 9
Amigos Intimos at Balliceaux (Richmond)

Thursday Sep 10
Afro-Zen Allstars at Crossroads Coffee & Ice Cream (Richmond)

Kana Kiehm & The Organic Sound Band at Cary Street Cafe (Richmond)

Pedrito Martinez Group at Millennium Stage (DC)

Friday Sep 11
Mahmoud Ahmed and Tineshu Tilahun at Lisner Auditorium (DC)

Saturday Sep 12
Dengue Fever at Rock & Roll Hotel (DC)

Debo Band and The Funk Ark at Gateway Park (Rosslyn)

Benyamin at Lisner Auditorium (DC)

Sunday Sep 13
Enanitos Verdes at the Fillmore (Silver Spring)

Monday Sep 14
Ayman Fanous and Tatsuya Nakatani with Tim Harding, Danny Finney and Greg Howard at St. John's United Church Of Christ (Richmond)

Tuesday Sep 15
Terakaft and Cheick Hamala's Griot Stree at Bossa Bistro (DC)

Gondwana at Tropicalia (DC)

Wednesday Sep 16
Roberto Junior at Bossa Bistro (DC)

Sones De Mexico Ensemble at Millennium Stage (DC)

Thursday Sep 17
Rattlemouth at Stir Crazy Cafe (Richmond)

Fado Nosso at Crossroads Coffee & Ice Cream (Richmond)

Friday Sep 18
Hotel X at Crossroads Coffee & Ice Cream (Richmond)

No BS! Brass at Balliceaux (Richmond)

Saturday Sep 19
Murphy's Kids at the Camel (Richmond)

Brigitte with Trio Caliente at the Birchmere (Alexandria)

Tuesday Sep 22
Ky-Mani Marley at the Howard Theatre (DC)

Wednesday Sep 23
Botellita De Jerez at Tropicalia (DC)

Thursday Sep 24
Rattlemouth at Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Jazz Cafe (Richmond)

Friday Sep 25
Black Uhuru at the Howard Theatre (DC)

Black Masala at Rock & Roll Hotel (DC)

Mariachi Flor De Toloache at Atlas Performing Arts Center (DC)

Williamsburg Salsa Orchestra at Millennium Stage (DC)

Saturday Sep 26
Red Baraat at the Hamilton (DC)

Marcello Bentine spins all-vinyl, all-Brazilian at Bossa Bistro upstairs (DC)

Sunday Sep 27
Vieux Farka Toure & Julia Easterlin at the Howard Theatre (DC)

Tuesday Sep 29
Rumput at Balliceaux (Richmond)

Wednesday Sep 30
Beats Antique's Creature Carnival at the National (Richmond)

Ibeyi and Vicktor Taiwo at the 9:30 Club (DC)

No comments: